What Is The Safe 3Rd Country Agreement

For all other countries that may be classified as safe third countries in the future: agreements on safe third countries have been concluded to share responsibility for helping asylum seekers and to ensure that they are safe and protected from the damage they are fleeing. The Trump administration`s repeated attacks on the legal immigration system – as well as the president`s hateful rhetoric about asylum seekers – show that the administration does not recognize or intend to criticize its responsibility to protect asylum seekers. So far, the United States is the only third-country country classified as a safe third country. Ahmed Hussen, speaking as Canada`s Minister of the IRCC, said the terms of the agreement on the security of third-country nationals are still being respected. The ruling Liberal Party of Canada has not indicated any plans or intentions to suspend the agreement. [21] In practical terms, the legislation states that the review of a given country is based on the following four factors: to date, the United States is the only country to be designated by Canada as a safe third country under the Immigration and Refugees Act. Under the Third Country Security Agreement, in effect since December 2004, Canada and the United States declare the other country safe for refugees and close the door to most refugees at the U.S.-Canada border. Guatemala as a “safe third country”: The Trump administration has reached an agreement with Guatemala on a “safe third country” that would require asylum seekers arriving in the United States via Guatemala to first seek asylum in Guatemala. Under the U.S. Refugee Act of 1980, these agreements are not considered treaties, so they can be concluded without congressional approval.

Asylum seekers can only be deported to countries where their lives are not threatened and where they have full access to fair asylum procedures. There are few examples where Western countries have regarded Western countries in other parts of the world as safe third countries, as Norway has done with Russia and the way the EU is currently considering with Turkey. In 2010, UNHCR reviewed the practices of 12 EU countries. It turned out that only two non-EU countries considered them to be safe third countries; United Kingdom and Spain. However, in the United Kingdom, the practice only concerned the United States, Canada and Switzerland. Spain had considered the countries of North Africa and Latin America to be safe only in some cases. UNHCR also said that after the EU`s enlargement to Eastern Europe, the EU should no longer consider some neighbouring countries as safe third countries; Russia and Turkey are among them.

Comments are closed.